PhD Admission Result

About Electrical Engineering

Welcome to the website of the Department of Electrical Engineering, IIT Indore.

The department offers B.Tech, M.S (Research), M.Tech and Ph.D. programs in Electrical Engineering. The department currently has 15 faculty members with expertise in diverse areas including Power Systems and Power Electronics, Integration of Renewable Energy Sources, Smart Grid, Nanotechnology and Nanoelectronics, Communications and Networking, Signal Processing, Bio-photonics. In tune with the inter–disciplinary research philosophy of IIT Indore, an effort is made to promote internal and external collaborations.

Electrical Engineering at IIT Indore aims to play an active role in propelling India in its growth trajectory through innovative inter–disciplinary research and educational programs at undergraduate and postgraduate levels.


  • Recruitment for JRF Position in a Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) funded research project entitled “Design and Fabrication of Electrically Tunable Silicon Photonic Waveguide for Active Photonic Devices”.
  • IIT Indore and National Load Dispatch Center (NLDC), Power Systems Operation Corporation Limited (POSOCO) have signed an MoU to strengthen academia-industry interaction for knowledge sharing and capacity building through collaboration
  • Prof. Mukesh Kumar has been appointed as Associate Editor of IEEE Photonics Journal.
  • National Conference on Communication (NCC-2022) | May 24- May 27, 2022
  • Invited Lecture by sn International Speaker Under the Internationalization and Outreach Program of the Institute
  • Advertisement for SRF Position in a research project entitled “Nanophotonic Structures Based On Composite Materials For Integrated Silicon Photonic Devices”
  • JRF Position under CSIR Sponsored Project.
  • List of Candidates Shortlisted for PhD Interview
  • JRF Position under SERB-DST Sponsored Project.
  • SRF in CSIR project.
  • Prof. Vimal Bhatia has been selected for IETE-Prof SVC Aiya Memorial Award 2019.
  • Dr. Mukesh Kumar has been sanctioned appx. Rs. 150 Lakhs from Nano Mission, DST for research in Silicon Photonics.
  • RA position in DST funded Research Project
  • Dr. Prabhat Kumar Upadhay, Associate Professor in Electrical Engineering, has been appointed as an Editor of IEEE Communications Letters.
  • Shortlisted candidates for MS (EE) program called for next round of selection process
  • Walk-in Interview for SRF Position under BRICS Multilateral Project
  • JRF position in DST Nano Mission Project
  • Ms. Swati Rajput, PhD Scholar under Dr. Mukesh Kumar in Electrical Engineering is conferred with Young Scientist Award by Madhya Pradesh Council of Science and Technology for the Best paper presented during 34th Young Scientist Congress.
  • Dr. Prabhat Kumar Upadhyay has been selected for IETE-Prof SVC Aiya Memorial Award
  • Dr Trapti Jain has been selected for IETE-Technomedia Award for Young Woman in Engineering 2018
  • Applications are invited for the post of Senior Research Fellow (SRF) under the project entitled "Performance Analysis of Diffusion-Based Molecular Communication Systems with Active Receivers" Contact Person: "Dr. Prabhat Kumar Upadhyay"
  • Prof. Ram Bilas Pachori has been appointed as Associate Editor of Biomedical Signal Processing and Control journal.
  • Karthik Thirumala, recent graduate from Electrical Engineering at IIT Indore, has been awarded by POSOCO Power System Award 2018 for excellent PhD thesis.
  • A Short Term Course on Advanced Signal Processing Techniques for Fault Detection of Mechanical and Electrical Systems, March 10-11, 2018.
  • CEP in Information Communication Technologies (ICT): Concepts, Implementations and Prospects, March 8-10, 2018
  • International Conference on Machine Intelligence and Signal Processing at IIT Indore
  • Mr. Abhijit Bhattacharyya has been selected for Raman-Charpak Fellowship for the year 2017. He is working toward the Ph.D. degree under the supervision of Dr. Ram Bilas Pachori.
  • Dr. Shaibal Mukherjee has been selected for the prestigious Bhaskara Advanced Solar Energy (BASE) Fellowship Program of Indo-US Science and Technology Forum (IUSSTF).
  • Dr. Abhinav Kranti will be visiting RWTH Aachen in connection with an approved project under DAAD Bilateral Exchange of Academics funding scheme (June 2017).
  • The number of seats in the EE B.Tech program is increased to 60 from the academic year 2016-17.
  • Ph.D. Positions
  • JRF Positions
  • Seminars
  • The Department has been awarded DST FIST project grant of Rs. 240 lakhs to strengthen the research facilities in SMART GRID AREA.
  • Best BTP Award 2017 for prototype was won by Rishabh Garg.